Social Media ToolsDocumentation review

Which Social Plans Include Approval Workflows

An approval step is the feature most often held one tier above the one buyers expect. Hootsuite names it on Advanced at $399 per seat, Later splits it across Growth and Scale, Metricool gates it on Advanced, Buffer includes it on Team at $10 per channel, and Publer sells it as extra members. Pages read October 11, 2026.

SHThe SHDMedia editors5 min read · 1,038 words
Published Oct 31, 2026 · Last checked Oct 11, 2026

This article is a documentation review: it is based on the vendors' own published pages, checked on the date shown. We may earn a commission from some links; it never affects what we recommend.

Which Social Plans Include Approval Workflows

If somebody has to sign off before a post goes live, that single requirement often doubles or triples what a social media tool costs. Approvals are a collaboration feature, and collaboration is where most vendors place their upgrade wall.

The spread is wide: on published rates the same two-step approval costs $10 per channel per month at Buffer and $399 per seat per month at Hootsuite.

This guide reads six pricing pages and records exactly where each vendor puts the approval step, as checked on October 11, 2026.

Buffer is the cheapest published route to an approval step

Buffer's Team plan lists "Content approval workflows" and "Custom access and permissions". It costs $10 per channel per month, or $120 per channel billed yearly, against $5 per channel on Essentials.

Neither Free nor Essentials lists approval workflows. Essentials also lists only 1 user account, so there is nobody to approve anything until you reach Team, which lists "Unlimited team members".

The arithmetic is the point. Five channels on Team is $50 per month by our calculation from the October 11, 2026 page, and that figure does not move however many reviewers you add.

Hootsuite holds approvals until its third paid tier

Hootsuite Advanced is headed "Streamline approvals and co-work across teams" and its first listed bullet is "Review and approve content with your team". The price is $399 per user per month on annual billing, tax excluded.

Standard at $99 and Professional at $199 do not list approvals. Hootsuite's FAQ states the upgrade path directly: "As your team grows, you can upgrade to plans that include advanced collaboration, approval workflows, team assignments, governance controls."

Because the price is per seat, a three-person approval chain on Advanced is $1,197 per month by our arithmetic. The seat model is the reason, as explained in what counts as a seat.

Buffer pricing page, captured October 31, 2026. Figures change; the live page is the source of truth.
Buffer pricing page, captured October 31, 2026. Figures change; the live page is the source of truth.

Later splits internal and external approvals across two tiers

Later's Growth plan, $37.50 per month on annual billing, lists "Internal & External collaboration and approvals" and includes 2 social sets and 2 users.

Scale, at $82.50 per month, lists "Content Approval Workflow" as a separate line and raises the plan to 6 social sets and 4 users. Starter at $18.75 lists neither, and includes only 1 user.

The wording difference is not explained on the page, so the practical reading is that a formal workflow and a collaborative sign-off are priced as different products. Later's users are fixed per tier rather than purchasable, so a fifth reviewer means a tier change.

Metricool gates its post approval system on Advanced

Metricool lists "Post approval system" alongside "Team and client management" and "Role management" in the Advanced bullet block. Advanced starts at $53 per month on annual billing, or $67 billed monthly.

Neither Free nor Starter lists any of the three. Starter covers up to 5 brands at $20 per month on annual billing, so the approval step costs an extra $33 per month at the entry point, by our arithmetic.

Metricool is also the only vendor here that publishes no seat count at any tier, so the number of people who can be put in the approval chain is not a published figure.

Publer sells approvals as members rather than as a tier

Publer is the one vendor that ties the feature to the member slider rather than to a plan. Its pricing page explains the slider in exactly those terms.

The text reads: "Select the number of additional members if you're managing social accounts as a team and would like collaboration and approval workflows." The owner is included in the base price and does not count toward the limit.

Professional is $5.00 per month, or $4.00 billed yearly, and Business is $10.00 or $8.00 billed yearly, both per social account. The member count is a separate quantity, with every tenth additional member free.

Sprout Social does not state the tier

Sprout Social's pricing page contains no mention of approvals in its visible text as read on October 11, 2026. Its publishing feature page does: "Create workflows to guide internal and external team members through approving messages."

That page names no plan. The pricing page keeps its publishing and engagement feature rows inside collapsed sections that could not be read on October 11, 2026, so the Sprout tier for approvals is not something we can confirm.

Sprout's seat rates are $79, $199, $299 and $399 per seat per month on annual billing, which puts a floor under any answer. The two seat-priced vendors are compared in Sprout Social against Hootsuite.

Cheapest published path for a three-person sign-off

Take a business with five connected accounts and three people, one of whom approves. The monthly totals below are our arithmetic from the published annual rates on October 11, 2026, before tax.

  • Publer Professional: 5 accounts at $4.00 plus 2 additional members, priced on a slider the page does not fix, so the floor is $20 per month for accounts alone.
  • Buffer Team: 5 channels at $10 equals $50 per month, unlimited members included.
  • Metricool Advanced: from $53 per month for up to 15 brands, seat count not published.
  • Later Growth: $37.50 per month, but only 2 users, so a third reviewer needs Scale at $82.50.
  • Hootsuite Advanced: 3 seats at $399 equals $1,197 per month.

The gap between $50 and $1,197 buys governance, analytics and routing rather than a better approval button. Whether that is worth twenty times the price is a question about your risk, not about the feature.

Four questions before you upgrade for approvals

  • Do your reviewers need a paid login, or will a share link do? Later is the only vendor here that names external approvals explicitly.
  • Is the approval step tied to seats, as at Publer, or to a tier, as at Hootsuite, Later and Metricool?
  • Does the upgrade also raise your account, brand or channel allowance, or only the collaboration features?
  • Are you upgrading for approvals or for reporting? Check the tier list again, since both usually sit together, a pattern described in how to read a social media tool pricing page.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest tool with an approval workflow?

Buffer Team on published rates, at $10 per channel per month with unlimited team members. Five channels is $50 per month, and the figure does not rise as you add reviewers, per the pricing page checked October 11, 2026.

Does Hootsuite include approvals on its cheapest plan?

No. Standard at $99 and Professional at $199 per seat per month do not list approvals. Advanced at $399 per seat states "Review and approve content with your team" as its first bullet.

Can free plans do approvals?

None of the six free tiers read on October 11, 2026 listed an approval workflow. Buffer Free and Publer Free both list 1 user, and Metricool Free covers 1 brand with 20 scheduled posts a month.

Which plan lets a client approve posts without a licence?

Later is the only vendor here that names external approvals, on Growth at $37.50 per month on annual billing. The page does not state whether an external reviewer consumes one of the plan's two user slots.

Does Sprout Social have approval workflows?

Its publishing feature page describes workflows for internal and external approval of messages, but names no tier, and the pricing page feature rows could not be read on October 11, 2026. Seat rates run from $79 to $399.

Is an approval step worth upgrading a tier for?

It depends on the unit. On channel-priced Buffer the upgrade is $5 more per channel per month. On seat-priced Hootsuite the same capability is $300 more per person per month than Professional.

Bottom line

Approvals are cheap on tools that bill by channel or account, and expensive on tools that bill by person. Decide your billing unit first and the approval question answers itself.

Free plans compared sit in Buffer versus Later versus Hootsuite free plans. Teams approving inside their own stack pay for compute instead, as in n8n Cloud versus self-hosted, and LinkedIn cannot hold an unpublished draft at all, as noted in LinkedIn and X API limits.

All figures reflect the vendors' pricing pages on October 11, 2026, exclude tax, and can change without notice.

Sources

#approval workflows#social media tools#team collaboration